Nominees announced for 2018 Arts and Culture Awards

Sep 6, 2018 | Arts and Culture News | Library

The Town of Orangeville's call for nominations for the 2018 Arts and Culture Awards received a resounding response. Forty-two individuals, businesses and organizations have been acknowledged for their contributions to arts and culture in Dufferin County.

The nominees for the 2018 awards are:

Established Artist of the Year:

  • Jeff Campbell
  • Beckie Morris
  • Emilia Perri
  • Gilbert Sipkema
  • Sharon Wadsworth-Smith

Student Artist of the Year:

  • Chanelle Nguyen-Duong
  • Marybeth Higginson
  • Nathan Warnaar
  • Nicolas Mustapha
  • Victoria Sodoma

Arts Educator of the Year:

  • CJ Shelton
  • Jada Doucette
  • Lisa Lahue
  • Lucinda Silva
  • Mary Philp
  • Ricky Schaede

Community Arts Volunteer Advocate:

  • Jim Kurtz
  • Karen O'Brodovich
  • Lucinda Silva
  • Nancy Woods
  • Wayne Townsend

Emerging Artist of the Year:

  • Andrew Maycock
  • Bridget O'Rourke
  • Sara May / Falcon Jane
  • Sarah Henry-Godfrey

Community Impact by a Business:

  • Academy of Performing Arts
  • Maggiolly Art
  • Mark's
  • Mochaberry Coffee & Co Ltd.
  • Savour the Flavours
  • TriTone Music Studios

Community Impact by an Organization:

  • Celebrate Your Awesome Diversity Day Committee
  • Orangeville Community Band
  • Credit Valley Conservation - Island Lake Waterfront Stage
  • Orangeville Blues & Jazz Festival
  • Headwaters Tourism - Headwaters Inspired project
  • Dufferin County Cultural Resource Circle

Creative Cultural Event:

  • CaribFest - Soulyve
  • Celebrate the Arts - Dufferin Arts Council
  • FRINGEnorth519 - Theatre Orangeville
  • The Secret Garden - Theatre Orangeville Musical Young Company
  • Underground Art Scene – Theatre Orangeville's Youth Advisory Committee in partnership with Orangeville Public Library Teen Advisory Group

The awards will be presented at Celebration of the Arts, an annual event that kicks off Culture Days in the Town of Orangeville. The evening reception will also feature music by local saxophonist Ryan Grist followed by a performance by Sawyer Bullock, an award-winning mentalist and illusionist. Celebration of the Arts will be held at 7 p.m. on Thursday, September 27 at Town Hall, 87 Broadway. Free tickets are now available and can be reserved at http://bit.ly/artscelebrationtickets until Friday, September 21.