Art Legacy Wall contributors acknowledged

The Town of Orangeville acknowledged community members who contributed to the Art Legacy Wall at the Alder Recreation Centre. With funding from Dufferin County’s legacy grant in 2017, the project commemorates Canada’s 150th birthday through artwork and photography submitted by the community.

The mural boasts 77 plaques, including six information plaques, and a total of 29 artist submissions as well as photos from the Town of Orangeville and historical images contributed by the Dufferin County Museum and Archives.

Councillor Don Kidd, who chairs the Orangeville Recreation Committee, acted as Master of Ceremonies for the appreciation event. Calling it a true community project, Councillor Kidd thanked the County of Dufferin for the Canada 150 legacy grant and residents for their submissions. With over a million visitors to the Alder Recreation Centre annually, the Town chose this location as the best community hub to feature the art wall.

The visual display features images of our history, leisure, sports and nature in a large-scale mural that overlays the map of Canada with maple leaves serving as the backdrop. At the ceremony, from left to right, are (back row) Councillor Don Kidd, artist and project facilitator Ken Hall, Hannah Leighton, Zig Elles,  Emily DeAlmeida, Jeff Nagy, Bernadette Hardaker on behalf of Theatre Orangeville, Ricky Schaede, and Jim Waddington; (front row) Sonja Culiina, Clara Shaw, Norma Rayner, Sarah Jefferies, and Donna Shipway. Contributors missing from photo are Dani Gewarges, Peter Dusek, Sharon Wadsworth-Smith, Jacklyn Hancock, Ted Wakeford, Peter Paterson, Karen Hunt, and Sheila Duncan.

artists at art legacy wall