The Town of Orangeville received 30 nominations for the 2019 Arts and Culture Awards.  An impressive selection of individuals, businesses and organizations have been acknowledged for their contributions to arts and culture in Dufferin County. 

The nominees for the 2019 awards are:

Established Artist of the Year:

  • Darlene Hassall
  • Heather Katz
  • Roland Kirouac
  • Beckie Morris
  • Emilia Perri

Emerging Artist of the Year:

  • Julie Harwood-Jones
  • Emma Pink
  • Sara Rose
  • Gil Sipkema

Student Artist of the Year:

  • Darcey Baker
  • Emma Bradley
  • Harley Duck
  • Melissa Hooper
  • Hayden Thomas

Arts Educator of the Year:

  • Christa Davison
  • Lisa Lahue
  • Ricky Schaede

Community Arts Volunteer Advocate:

  • Heather Holmes
  • Teresa & Ken Huntley

Community Impact by a Business:

  • Jungle Oasis Playground Inc.
  • Maggiolly Art
  • Mochaberry Coffee & Co Ltd.
  • Riveting Adventurez
  • TriTone Music Studios

Community Impact by an Organization:

  • B Social café
  • Dufferin Board of Trade’s Dufferin Film & Television Portal
  • Orangeville Blues & Jazz Festival

Creative Cultural Event:

  • Headwaters Guy Fawkes/Bonfire Night
  • Museum of Dufferin Family Day
  • The Dream at Island Lake

The awards will be presented on Thursday, September 26 at Town Hall, 87 Broadway.  The reception starts at 7 p.m. and will feature music by local saxophonist Ryan Grist.  After a presentation by Dufferin County’s Poet Laureate Harry Posner at 8 p.m., the awards will be presented in the Opera House. The community is invited to celebrate with the nominees and winners.  Free tickets are now available and can be reserved at until Tuesday, September 24.