A group of presenters and award winners stand on a stage at Theatre Orangeville. They are surrounded by a beautiful set of tall, watercolour designed trees.

The Town of Orangeville announced the winners of the 2022 Arts & Culture Awards on Thursday, September 29. The event celebrated the local arts and culture sector and paid tribute to the outstanding contributions made by individuals, businesses, and organizations throughout the region.

“It’s a true celebration this year, especially being in the Town’s historic Opera House,” said Wayne Townsend, Master of Ceremonies. “After two years of virtual presentations, we are very excited to have the opportunity to bring our community together for this special occasion.”

Winners were announced in eight award categories, with judging completed by an experienced independent panel from outside Dufferin County.

The recipients of the 2022 awards are:

  • Established Artist of the Year: Leisa Way
  • Emerging Artist of the Year: Emily Gilbart
  • Student Artist of the Year: Mari Kato
  • Arts Educator of the Year Award: Jada Milne
  • Community Arts Volunteer Award: Hemani and Malini Singh
  • Community Impact by an Organization Award: Theatre Orangeville
  • Community Impact by a Business Award: e.Hofmann Plastics
  • Creative Cultural Event Award: Dufferin County Multicultural Event

Entertainment during the reception was provided by The Ryan Grist Duo, featuring Jacob McGibbon and Ryan Grist.

MPP Sylvia Jones, Town of Orangeville Mayor Sandy Brown, Councillor and Chair of the Cultural Plan Task Force Lisa Post, Councillor Debbie Sherwood and Deputy Mayor Andy Macintosh  were on hand to congratulate all nominees and recognize the impact of arts and culture on the community.

Descriptions of the contributions and accomplishments of this year’s winners and nominees can be found at orangeville.ca/ACAwards/.