The Police Services Board is entrusted with being the public oversight of the Orangeville office of the OPP.

Board members

The Orangeville Police Services Board for 2020 is comprised of five (5) members who serve on a part-time basis:

Todd Taylor – Chair – Elected Member of Town Council

Ian McSweeney – Vice Chair – Community Member appointed by Town Council

Ken Krakar – Community member appointed by the Ontario Government

Mary Rose – Community member appointed by the Ontario Government

Andy Macintosh – Elected Member of Town Council

Learn how to become a member of the Police Services Board.

Board Member Biographies

 Chair Todd Taylor 


Chair Taylor has lived in Orangeville since 2002 and has raised his family here. He has been very involved in Town events and committees. He and his wife are proud to have had their children participate in hockey, dance, and Theatre Orangeville programs.

In his career, Chair Taylor has worked for a wide variety of large food supply companies. Most of his time in the industry has been spent as a Director of Sales. His job is to build customer relationships, turn around under-performing businesses, and unlock innovative ways to get things done. He leads a group of people who are committed to ensuring the organization realizes its growth and profitability targets.

Prior to being elected to Orangeville Town Council, Chair Taylor volunteered extensively. His past projects include President of the Optimist Club, President of the Mono Nordic Ski Club, Chair of the Orangeville Public Library Board, Chair of the Mayor’s Remuneration Committee, member of the Transit Committee, and Snow Clearing Committee. In addition to his Council duties, Chair Taylor is honoured to serve as a member of the Police Services Board and Theatre Orangeville Board.

 Vice Chair Ian McSweeney 


Ian McSweeney was appointed as a member of the Board by Town Council, effective December 3, 2018. Ian is a retired partner of the law firm Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP. At Osler, he chaired the firm’s Pension and Employee Benefits Department for many years and practiced exclusively in that area for most of his 35-plus year legal career. Ian is a former member of Osler’s Executive Committee and a former Chair of the firm’s Legal Professionals Committee. He is the past Editor of Pension Benefits Law in Ontario (Carswell) and also a former (founding) member of the executive of the Canadian Bar Association (Ontario) Pension and Benefits Section and former Chair and founding member of the International Pension & Employee Benefits Lawyers Association (IPEBLA).

Currently, Ian is Chair of the Financial Services Tribunal of Ontario and prior to June of 2019, was also Chair of Financial Services Commission of Ontario. He is a member of the Headwaters Health Care Centre Finance Committee and a past member of the HHCC Quality Committee. Ian and his family are active in the Orangeville community.

Vice Chair McSweeney has an honours business degree from Ivey (HBA, 1975) and obtained his law degree from the University of Western Ontario (LLB, 1979).

 Ken Krakar 


Ken Krakar is an entrepreneur and grew up with rural roots. Ken studied Business Administration at Mohawk College, and at convocation was awarded the President’s Medal for outstanding academics and dedication to the College community. During his time at Mohawk College, Ken was the student Governor on the Mohawk College Board of Governors. Ken then went onto Brock University to study Business Administration, where he graduated with honours and was awarded the President’s Surgite Award at Convocation. Ken then went into the insurance field, working as a product specialist with Great West Life. After nine years as a product specialist, Ken decided to become an Independent Advisor. He subsequently became an Emerging Leader with a major insurance company for financial professionals under 40. Ken currently runs his financial advisory practice in Orangeville, helping his clients protect their financial health and wealth. On a part-time basis, Ken teaches financial accounting at the McKeil School of Business.

 Mary Rose 


Mary Rose, former Mayor and Councillor in the Town of Orangeville for 23 years. Mary is a retired teacher of 37 years who was first appointed to the OPSB in 1991 serving six years while Mayor and a further two years as the provincial representative. In February of 2019, she was re-appointed as the provincial representative.

Mary was awarded both the Town of Orangeville and Provincial Senior of the Year, the Rotary “Paul Harris Fellow” and the 1992 and Canada 150th Federal Anniversary Awards plus the Canadian Legion 75th Anniversary Award, among others.

 Andy Macintosh

Andy Macintosh was elected Deputy Mayor in October of 2018.

Deputy Mayor Andy Macintosh worked for Orangeville Fire for 30 years having worked his way up to the position of Deputy Chief and then Fire Chief – a position he held for 16 years until his retirement.

During his time with the fire service, Andy was the recipient of the:

  • National Fire Services Exemplary Service Medal
  • Fire Services Long Service Medal
  • Queen's Diamond Jubilee and Golden Jubilee medals
  • Canada 150 Medallion

Contact information

All Board members can be reached via e-mail:

Todd Taylor, Chair --

Ian McSweeney, Vice Chair --

Ken Krakar --

Mary Rose --

Andy Macintosh --

Meeting schedule, agendas & minutes

Police board meetings are held monthly (third Tuesday of every month at 5 p.m.) and are open to the public.

Meeting schedule, agendas and minutes can be viewed online. 

Agendas and Minutes are available in alternative formats upon request. 


February 23, 2021

March 23, 2021

April 20, 2021

May 18, 2021 

June 15, 2021

September 21, 2021

October 19, 2021

November 16, 2021 

December 2021 - No Meeting 

January 18, 2021 


February 23, 2021

March 23, 2021

April 20, 2021

May 18, 2021 

June 15, 2021

September 21, 2021

October 19, 2021

November 16, 2021